OneRepublic: MySpace Hit-MakersNAME: OneRepublic
MEMBERS: Ryan Tedder (Lead Vocals/Guitar/Piano), Zach Filkins (Guitar/Vocals), Drew Brown (Guitar), Eddie Fisher (Drums) and Brent Kutzle (Bass/Cello/Vocals)
HOMETOWN: The band was formed in Colorado in the year 2004.

IN TUNE: The pop/rock band, OneRepublic has been taking the world by storm and when you hear their album, you’ll understand why. What sets them apart from a lot of the bands on the charts these days is the strength of frustration, devotion and love in their music which is infused with melodic tones, catchy lyrics and definite emotion. “The songs touch on things like feeling unsettled with where you’re at in life, lack of hope, and frustration… they have a lot to do with my own journey, as well as those around me; they’re about times when I’ve felt stuck, far away from where I wanted or intended to be,” says lead singer, Ryan Tedder. “Hopefully people can relate to the things we touch on, and hopefully we get them singing.”

PRODUCER MAN: You may recognize Tedder’s name, he is an accomplished Grammy nominated songwriter and producer who has worked with top Pop, Rock and R&B acts, such as Jennifer Lopez, Lil’ Jon, Paul Oakenfold, Tupac and Timbaland.

MYSPACE MADNESS: Since the summer of 2006, OneRepublic has been ranked as one of the top musical acts on the infamous on-line community MySpace, where they’ve received a high quality of exposure. Their music has been played over 12 million times and counting, yet their album has not been released. After thousands of MySpacers got hooked on the bands ballad “Apologize”, superstar producer Timbaland featured a remix of the internet hit on his 2007 album Timbaland Presents: Shock Value. Since then, OneRepublic has performed the song in it’s original format on FOX’s hit reality show So You Think You Can Dance as well as Late Show with David Letterman.

LABEL FLIPPIN: The band was briefly signed with Columbia Records before moving to Interscope/Mosley Music Group where they have currently been recording their debut self-titled album. The album is set to be released in the Fall of 2007, containing the original version of “Apologize.” There’s currently no word on if Timbaland’s remix will serve as a bonus track.


– Courtney Justice, August 2007